Chicken with Mustard-Cream Sauce

Sundays during the semester are usually, for me, the busiest day of the weekend. I put off all my homework in favor of side-projects and dinner parties until that day, so usually I can’t make any elaborate meals. The summer is different, though. I love lazy Sundays and the meals that accompany it. 

This week, I decided to try something new. There’s a popular pin floating around on Pinterest, often captioned as ’50 chicken breast dinners.’ Buried in there is a recipe from Martha Stewart Living’s Everyday Food: Great Food Fast for Chicken with Mustard-Cream sauce. I’m a big fan of Martha, and, as my husband said, “we’ve never gotten a bad recipe from her.” 

It certainly did not disappoint. I served it alongside the Creamy Garlic Pasta from the cheese pusher, and it was quite delicious. That pasta is incredibly rich and makes a ton!

I made a few small modifications to this recipe: half & half instead of heavy cream; my favorite mustard in place of standard dijon; I seared my chicken breast on the stovetop before finishing it in the oven. I made one large chicken breast only, since I was just cooking for two, but the whole recipe for the sauce–I like to have extra. It’s a quick recipe that feels more elevated than the 30 minutes it calls for. I highly recommend it! (Source.)

Ingredients
4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon dried tarragon or oregano

Directions
Add olive oil to a large skillet and preheat over medium-high heat.  Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper.  Add chicken to skillet and saute until cooked through, about 10-12 minutes, turning once.  Transfer to a plate and keep warm.  Pour chicken broth into hot skillet.  Whisk in the cream, mustard and tarragon or oregano.  Cook and stir for about 2 minutes.  Pour sauce over chicken and serve.

One thought on “Chicken with Mustard-Cream Sauce

Leave a Reply

